How Dungeons & Dragons Online Works

The World of Dungeons & Dragons Online

The warforged are a race of constructs given life through powerful magic.
The warforged are a race of constructs given life through powerful magic.
Courtesy Turbine

Dungeons & Dragons is a fantasy role-playing game, meaning that the setting is in a magical realm. It draws a great deal of inspiration from a romanticized version of Europe in the Middle Ages. But there are multiple worlds within D&D, each with its own set of races, environments, magic and equipment. The specific setting for Dungeons & Dragons Online is Eberron.

Eberron is a fantasy world that incorporates elements of magic and technology. Dragons have a special significance in Eberron and factor heavily into the world's mythology. The world has several continents. In Dungeons & Dragons Online, players will find themselves on the continent Xen'drik. Most of the players using a free account will participate in adventures that take place in or around the city of Stormreach, which is on the east coast of Xen'drik. Players who pay a subscription to the game gain access to more regions.

Players have several choices when it comes to character classes. There are melee-based classes that use hand-to-hand weapons. These include fighters, barbarians and paladins. If you want to sling spells, you'll need to choose a cleric, sorcerer or wizard. Then there are the specialist classes of rogue, bard and ranger. Players who subscribe to the game gain two additional classes: the monk and the favored soul. You can also choose to multiclass. That means you can choose to advance in skill levels in up to three classes to round out your character's abilities.

The basic races of Dungeons & Dragons also inhabit Eberron. Among these, players can choose humans, elves, dwarves or halflings right away. Players with a subscription or those who spend points to purchase them can also play races called drow (aka dark elves) and warforged. The warforged are artificially-constructed creatures animated by magic and are unique to Eberron.

There are 13 powerful families that control businesses on Eberron. Each family has its own methods and motivations. Families alternate between competing against one another and aligning with other families to achieve goals. In Dungeons & Dragons Online, characters can work for four of them. They are:

  • House Deneith
  • House Jorasco
  • House Kundarak
  • House Phiarlan

There are other organizations that influence politics and trade on Eberron, too. Players can complete tasks assigned by these organizations to gain favor. As players gain more favor, they earn rewards.

The mythology and culture of Eberron is complex. But that's just the surface of the game. Underneath is an equally complex system of rules and statistics.