5 Photography Techniques Everyone Should Know


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Pro Tips on Posing for Perfect Pics

Pro Tips on Posing for Perfect Pics

Forget those awkward family photos! HowStuffWorks talked to two photography experts on how to look your best in every photo, every time.


Related Articles

Sources

  • Bezman, Robert. "Understanding and Using Photography Lighting." Best Family Photography Tips.com. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.best-family-photography-tips.com/photography-lighting.html
  • Bezman, Robert. "Tripod Photography." Best Family Photography Tips.com. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.best-family-photography-tips.com/tripod-photography.html
  • Calumet Photo. "Clamp Tripod." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.calumetphoto.com/1/3/clamp-tripod
  • Digicam. "Memory Card Capacity." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.digicamhelp.com/accessories/memory-cards/capacity/
  • Digicam. "AE-lock and AF-lock." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.digicamhelp.com/taking-photos/advanced-techniques/ae-af/
  • Fujifilm. "Fujifilm Introduces the World's First 3D Digital Camera." Aug. 17, 2010. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.fujifilmusa.com/press/news/display_news?newsID=879882
  • Halford, Elizabeth. "5 Tips for Consistently Good Photos Indoors." Digital Photography School.com. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.digital-photography-school.com/5-tips-for-consistently-good-photos-indoors
  • Howell, Tony. "Photography Tips and Techniques." Tony Howell.co.uk. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.tonyhowell.co.uk/phototips.htm
  • Kodak. "Top 10 Tips for Great Pictures." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.kodak.com/eknec/PageQuerier.jhtml?pq-path=10032&pq-locale=en_US&_requestid=38800
  • Lightscoop. "What is a Lightscoop?" (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.lightscoop.com/what-is-lightscoop.html
  • Manfrotto. "Tripod Basics." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.manfrotto.com/Service/How+To+Lessons/Tripod+Basics/Tripod+Basics/3670824
  • Photographymad.com. "10 Top Photography Composition Rules." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.photographymad.com/tips/view/10-top-photography-composition-rules
  • Photo-John. "Point-and-Shoot Digital Camera Tips." Photography Review.com. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.photographyreview.com/digitalcameratips3crx.aspx
  • Ritzpix. "Improving your lighting." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.ritzpix.com/net/phototips/Lighting.aspx
  • Roberts Web Photo School. "How to Use a Tripod: The Basics." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://roberts.webphotoschool.com/How_to_Use_a_Tripod__The_Basics/index.html
  • Rouse, Darren. "Break the Rule of Thirds." Digital Photography School.com. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.digital-photography-school.com/break-the-rule-of-thirds
  • Stephenson, Kleber. "Taking Better Pictures: Composition." Microsoft.com. June 20, 2005. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/digitalphotography/learnmore/composition.mspx
  • Story, Derrick. "Top Ten Digital Photography Tips." O'Reilly.com. Sept. 6, 2005. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://oreilly.com/pub/a/mac/2002/10/22/digi_photo_tips.html
  • Varp. "If your photographs are not good enough, you are not close enough." Varp.net. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.varp.net/photos/altindex.html
  • Watercolorpainting.com. "Composition: The Rule of Thirds." (Jan. 26, 2011)http://www.watercolorpainting.com/composition_rule_of_thirds.htm
  • Yolles, James. "Film camera loyalists fear their days are numbered." March 3, 2009. Columbia News Service. (Jan. 26, 2011)http://jscms.jrn.columbia.edu/cns/2009-03-03/yolles-cameras.html

More to Explore