Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

How do they make those projections of dead celebrities and politicians?


Author's Note

Birthdays, accomplishments, any special occasions were, for me, chances to ask for a trip to the science museum. From Phoenix to Albuquerque to Houston and San Antonio, my trips to health and science museums across the southwest are some of the best memories of my childhood. To this day, I still love animatronic dinosaurs and hope one day to own an army of them -- but my favorite up-close exhibits were always the ones that used the Pepper's Ghost illusion to transform my face into something else (an ape's face, usually) with hand-operated lights and mirrored glass. They're scary and funny, and because the physics behind the illusion are so strong, just as visceral and fascinating 20 years later as they were when I was a kid.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Anderson, Kyle. "Tupac's hologram was developed by Oscar-winning effects people, cost a ton of money, has a Twitter account." Entertainment Weekly. Apr 17, 2012 (Oct. 15, 2012) http://music-mix.ew.com/2012/04/17/tupac-hologram-twitter-cost
  • ibid. "Tupac lives (as a hologram) at Coachella!". Entertainment Weekly. Apr. 16, 2012 (Oct. 15, 2012) http://music-mix.ew.com/2012/04/16/tupac-hologram-coachella-video/
  • .Aron, Jacob. "Rapper Tupac rises from the dead for hologram show." New Scientist. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.newscientist.com/blogs/onepercent/2012/04/rapper-tupac-rises-from-the-de.html
  • Basulto, Dominic. "How Virtual Avatars Could Disrupt Politics." Big Think. Sept. 10, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://bigthink.com/endless-innovation/how-virtual-avatars-could-disrupt-politics
  • Biddle, Sam. "Tupac Hologram Wasn't a Hologram." Gizmodo. Apr. 17, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://us.gizmodo.com/5902625/tupac-hologram-wasnt-a-hologram
  • Collins, Leah and Tucker, Rebecca. "Tupac hologram at Coachella: How did they do that?" The National Post. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://arts.nationalpost.com/2012/04/16/tupac-hologram-at-coachella-how-did-they-do-that
  • Faraci, Devin. "Tupac's Coachella 'Hologram' Achieved With Magic Trick From The 1860s." BadAss Digest. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://badassdigest.com/2012/04/16/tupacs-coachella-hologram-achieved-with-magic-trick-from-the-1860s
  • Farivar, Cyrus. "Tupac 'hologram' merely pretty cool optical illusion." Ars Technica. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://arstechnica.com/science/2012/04/tupac-hologram-merely-pretty-cool-optical-illusion
  • Ganz, Jacob. "How That Tupac Hologram At Coachella Worked." NPR: The Record. Apr. 17, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.npr.org/blogs/therecord/2012/04/17/150820261/how-that-tupac-hologram-at-coachella-worked
  • Inglis-Arkell, Esther. "How to haunt your house with Pepper's Ghost." Io9. Oct. 18, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://io9.com/5850560/how-to-haunt-your-house-with-peppers-ghost
  • Jauregui, Andres. "Tupac Hologram: AV Concepts Brings Late Rapper To Life At Coachella." Huffington Post. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/04/16/tupac-hologram-av-concepts_n_1429316.html
  • Kaufman, Gil. "Exclusive: Tupac Coachella Hologram Source Explains How Rapper Resurrected." MTV News. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1683173/tupac-hologram-coachella.jhtml
  • Markman, Rob. "Tupac's Coachella Hologram: How It Works." MTV RapFix. Apr. 18, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://rapfix.mtv.com/2012/04/18/tupac-coachella-hologram-how-it-works
  • Marshall, Will. "The Anti-Reagan: Even A Hologram Of The Gipper Overshadows Mitt Romney." The Daily Beast. Aug. 31, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2012/08/31/the-anti-reagan-even-a-hologram-of-the-gipper-overshadows-mitt-romney.html
  • Ogilvie, Jessica Pauline. "Marilyn Monroe The Latest Dead Celeb to Be Turned into a hologram." LAist Arts & Entertainment. May 31, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://laist.com/2012/05/31/marilyn_monroe_may_go_on_tour_as_a.php
  • Parker, Suzi. "Dead politicians and holograms: The next frontier?" Washington Post. Jun.15, 2012 (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/she-the-people/post/dead-politicians-and-holograms-the-next-frontier-in-politics/2012/06/15/gJQApQ70eV_blog.html
  • Pfeiffer, Eric. "Reagan hologram is real, was planned for RNC debut." Yahoo! News. Aug. 30, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/ticket/reagan-hologram-real-planned-rnc-debut-203919642--election.html
  • Queen Mary University of London. "Pepper's Ghost." Queen Mary University of London. 2012 (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.cs4fn.org/illusions/peppersghost.php
  • Rolling Stone. "Report: Tupac Hologram at Coachella Cost at Least $100K." Rolling Stone. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/report-tupac-hologram-at-coachella-cost-at-least-100k-20120416
  • Smith, Ethan. "Rapper's De-Light: Tupac 'Hologram' May Go on Tour." Wall Street Journal. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052702304818404577348243109842490.html
  • Strom, Pete. "Holograms Could Be The Future Of Political Fundraising." Strom Law blog. June 15, 2012 (Oct. 15, 2012) http://stromlaw.com/3535/holograms-could-be-future-political-fundraising/
  • Suddath, Claire. "How Tupac Became a Hologram (Is Elvis Next?)" Bloomberg Business Week. Apr. 16, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2012-04-16/how-tupac-became-a-hologram-plus-is-elvis-next
  • Suebsaeng, Asawin. "The Holographic Zombie Reagan Lives!" Mother Jones. Aug. 31, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.motherjones.com/mojo/2012/08/ronald-reagan-hologram-lives
  • Thier, Dave. "Tupac "Hologram" Wasn't a Hologram at All." Forbes. Apr. 17, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.forbes.com/sites/davidthier/2012/04/17/tupac-hologram-wasnt-a-hologram-at-all/
  • Tsukayama, Hayley. "How the Tupac 'hologram' works." Washington Post. Apr. 18, 2012. (Oct. 15, 2012) http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/technology/how-the-tupac-hologram-works/2012/04/18/gIQA1ZVyQT_story.html

More to Explore