Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

What's a mystery clock?


Author's Note

I learned as much about human nature as about clocks while working on this piece. I was struck by how much people have always loved puzzles, mysteries and tricks, and how they will pay for something that's billed as amazing, impossible or futuristic.

I also found myself wanting to shop for a 1950s-era mystery clock. And I kept thinking that I had seen one somewhere in the home of some elderly relative.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Blauer, Ettagale. "Cartier's Clocks." Cigar Aficionado. July/August 1998. (June 15, 2012) http://www.cigaraficionado.com/webfeatures/show/id/Cartiers-Clocks_7402
  • The British Museum. "Mystery Clock/ Clock Case." (June 14, 2012) http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/search_the_collection_database/search_object_details.aspx?objectid=55192&partid=1&output=Terms%2F!!%2FOR%2F!!%2F23418%2F!%2F%2F!%2Fclock-case%2F!%2F%2F!!%2F%2F!!!%2F&orig=%2Fresearch%2Fsearch_the_collection_database%2Fadvanced_search.aspx&currentPage=1&numpages=10
  • Haute Horlogerie Foundation. "Mysterious (clock or watch)." (June 7, 2012) http://www.hautehorlogerie.org/en/glossary/mysterious-clock-or-watch-349/
  • Horologist. "Robert-Houdin. A French Mystery Clock." (June 13 , 2012) http://www.horologist.co.uk/houdin.html
  • Horology Stuff. "Mystery Clocks." (June 13, 2012) http://www.horology-stuff.com/clocks/mystery.html
  • Kolesnikov-Jessop, Sonia. "Magic in the Timing." The New York Times, March 17, 2010. (June 16, 2012) http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/18/fashion/18iht-acawmyst.html?_r=1
  • Kovel, Terry. "Something Old: The Mystery of Mystery Clocks." Foster's Daily Democrat. January 9, 2012. (June 14, 2012) http://www.fosters.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20120119/GJENTERTAINMENT_01/712299990/0/FOSENTERTAINMENT08
  • Leigh Extence. "Robert Houdin, Parish – a Glass-Dialled Mystery Clock." (June 16, 2012) http://www.extence.co.uk/1136%20houdin.htm
  • Linz, Jim. "Deco Collector: Electric Mystery Clocks." (June 14, 2012) http://www.adsw.org/perspective/2004/MysteryClock/
  • PBS. "Jean Eugene Robert-Houdin (1805-1871)." The American Experience: Houdini. PBS. (June 14, 2012) http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/houdini/peopleevents/pande03.html
  • Pingel, Maile. "Watching the Clock." Design Compendium. http://designcompendium.blogspot.com/2007/02/watching-clock.html (June 15, 2012)
  • Russell, Roger. "Jefferson Electric Clocks and Other Jefferson Products." Roger-Russell.com (June 14, 2012) http://www.roger-russell.com/jeffers/jeffers.htm
  • Russell, Roger. "Mystery Clock History Page." Mystery Clocks. (June 7, 2012) http://www.roger-russell.com/mysteryclocks/mysteryclocks.htm
  • Schultz, Mike. "Jefferson Golden Hour Mystery Clock." Reverse Time Page. (June 7, 2012) http://uv201.com/Clock_Pages/jefferson.htm
  • Schultz, Mike. "Master Crafters Model 209 Mystery Clock." Reverse Time Page. (June 10, 2012) http://uv201.com/Clock_Pages/master_crafters.htm
  • World Tempus. "Cartier – An exceptional horological exhibition." (June 14, 2012) http://www.worldtempus.com/en/news/top-news/detail/article/1316508843-cartier-an-exceptional-horological-exhibition/
  • WorthPoint. "Junghans, German Mystery Clock." http://www.worthpoint.com/worthopedia/junghans-german-mystery-clock (June 15, 2012)

More to Explore